School Lunch Found Guilty!


Empanadas, Sushi, Flan and more: The Food of our cultures by pywfoodnoshinh
March 1, 2010, 1:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Homemade eggrolls


Jailene's mom made spicy AND mild enchiladas.


Shingara, made by Seyeda and her mom


Even though we weren't experts with the chopsticks, nobody dropped their sushi!


3 different Egyptian desserts


The party started with lots of empanadas, but they didn't last very long.

Noshin says: On Thursday at Play With Your Food class we had a multicultural party. Although it wasn’t the food we ate for lunch, we thought we should put it up here. All of us enjoyed eating the food from different countries. I had some pretty good food. On the top are some pictures of the food we ate. I think this was a great experience-eating food from different countries. It is nice to try new foods. I thought the food was amazing at the party. People from the culture party, Leave a comment on what your favorite food was!

Tenzin says this food is definitely NOT GUILTY!


Principal Laura samples a variety of dishes


Amina and Merna do a taste test

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I liked most of the foods!It taste very good.My favorite was shingara.it was a pinch spicy filled with potatoes.emmmm emmmmmm gooddddddddddd!=)

Comment by sarah

I ate so much great food, I was full until the next morning. There’s no way I could choose a favorite. What I thought was interesting, though, was how many foods crossed cultures. For example, Rhamina said the Tibetan cookies Tenzin brought were just like something her family eats for Eid. Two totally different celebrations, same food. Fascinating! It just goes to show you that no matter where you’re from, people really are pretty similar. Great party, class!

Comment by FoodTeacherAmy

Loved it! The Culture Party was FANTASTIC. Way better than the school lunch. I wish that the food for this party was what we had for lunch! Well…something similar at least.

Comment by pwyfoodemilya

I wish I could have been at the culture party. Looking at the pictures of the food,I bet that all of you guys loved it. I hope we also have a culture party!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment by noureen




Leave a Reply

